Are you listening? #Boycottautismspeaks

You will never understand #autism if you refuse to listen to #Autistic people #boycottautismspeaks Image Description: Teal/Aqua colored splotchy background with Aqua and dark green text that reads “True Story: You will never understand autism if you refuse to listen to Autistic people”
You will never understand #autism if you refuse to listen to #Autistic people #boycottautismspeaks
Image Description: Teal/Aqua colored splotchy background with Aqua and dark green text that reads “True Story: You will never understand autism if you refuse to listen to Autistic people”

Written by: Beowulf

Are You Listening?
I am autistic
I am speaking
Do you hear my words?
Do you care to hear?
Why do you think I’m broken
a puzzle piece, a burden?
Why do you wish to eliminate me
to make me something I am not?
Why do you hurt me?
By lighting it up blue
or finding a so called cure?
Why do you do this?
I don’t understand.
Does my voice matter so little?
Why won’t you listen? Why don’t you care?
I am not a burden, I am not something to fix
I am me, and no needle will “make me better”
I am autistic
I am speaking
You can hear me
Do you care to listen?

Leave a Reply

