#DescribeAutism by LetsSinTonight #boycottAutismSpeaks

Written by:
Originally posted HERE

#DescribeAutism

Autism, for me, is…

The euphoria of listening to the right songs,

The extreme anxiety of facing public bathrooms,

The frustration of struggling through social situations,

The headaches from using Bath and Body Works,

The excitement of seeing my favorite bands perform,

The stress of allism passing,

The fun of cuddling my stuffed animals,

The depression of not feeling accepted,

The feeling of playing with my hair,

And everything that I am, whether good or bad.

Autism, for me, was…

Repeating my favorite 7-11 commercial,

Watching The Lion King over and over again,

Thumb sucking with the tags of my favorite plushes wrapped on,

Watching Barney obsessively,

Having meltdowns in public bathrooms,

Crying if anyone else played with my prized ATV toy,

Moving my hair out of my face while I played,

Struggling with elementary school homework,

Refusing your offer to beat up my classmates,

And everything that I was, whether good or bad.

These do not describe autism…

Burden on our families,

A global health crisis,

The end of marriages,

A cause for alarm,

A hopeless diagnosis,

Something to “battle”,

A reason for us to be pitied,

“As if your child went missing”,

A Tragedy,

Or a subject better understood by allistic parents or grandparents.

Image is framed in green and in the lower left corner is green/blue diagonal box with blue "unequal" sign and green text that reads Boycott Autism Speaks
Image is framed in green and in the lower left corner is green/blue diagonal box with blue “unequal” sign and green text that reads Boycott Autism Speaks
Leave a Reply

